International Gandhi Peace Prize

The International Gandhi Peace Prize, named after Mahatma Gandhi, is awarded annually by the Government of India.

As a tribute to the ideals espoused by Gandhi, the Government of India launched the International Gandhi Peace Prize in 1995 on the occasion of the 125th birth anniversary of Mohandas Gandhi. This is an annual award given to individuals and institutions for their contributions towards social, economic and political transformation through non-violence and other Gandhian methods. The award carries ₹1 crore (US$130,000) in cash, convertible in any currency in the world, a plaque and a citation. It is open to all persons regardless of nationality, race, creed or gender.

Ordinarily, only proposals coming from competent persons invited to nominate are considered. However, a proposal is not taken as invalid for consideration by the jury merely on the ground of not having emanated from competent persons. If it is considered that none of the proposals merit recognition, the jury is free to withhold the award for that year; the award was withheld in the years from 2006 to 2012 inclusive. Only achievements within 10 years immediately preceding the nomination are considered for the award; an older work may, however, be considered if its significance has not become apparent until recently. A written work, to be eligible for consideration, should have been published.

Sheikh Mujibur Rahman

For his contributions towards social, economic and political transformation through non-violent and other Gandhian methods.

Qaboos bin Said Al Said

For contributions for social, economic and political transformation through non-violent and other Gandhian methods.

Yōhei Sasakawa

For his contribution in Leprosy Eradication in India and across the world.

Ekal Abhiyan Trust

Contribution in providing Education for Rural and Tribal Children in remote areas pan India, Rural Empowerment, Gender and Social Equality.

Akshaypatra Foundation

A non-profit organisation in India that runs school lunch programme across India

Sulabh International

A social service organization that works to promote human rights, environmental sanitation, non-conventional sources of energy, waste management and social reforms through education.

Vivekananda Kendra

A Hindu spiritual organisation based on the principles preached by Swami Vivekananda


Space agency of the Indian Govt. Objective is to advance space technology and deliver the applications of it

Chandi Prasad Bhatt

Environmentalist, social activist and pioneer of the Chipko movement

Desmond Tutu

South African cleric and activist

Mrs. Coretta Scott King

The widow of Martin Luther King

Mr. Vaclav Havel

Former President of Czechoslovakia and
first President of the Czech Republic


Bhartiya Vidya Bhavan

Educational Trust that emphasized Indian culture

Mr. John Hume-Ireland

Nothern Irish Politician

Grameen Bank (co-recipient)

Founded by Muhammad Yunus

Dr. Nelson Mandela & Grameen Bank of Bangladesh

Former President of South Africa

Shri Murlidhar Devidas Amte (Baba Amte), India


Ramakrishna Mission, India


Dr. Gerhard Fischer

Former German Diplomat

Dr. A. T. Ariyaratane

President, Sarvodaya Shramadana Movement, Sri Lanka

Dr. Julius K. Nyerere

Former President of Tanzania